So you are engaged and you are wondering what some of the steps are to become married. This blog will give you step by step instructions on how and when to obtain your marriage license.
How To Get a Marriage License
You can get a marriage license in Texas by visiting a county clerk's office in any Texas county. You can apply in a different Texas county from where you will be married, but you'll have to return the completed license to the same county where you applied after your ceremony. A copy of the license will then be filed at that county clerk's office, and the original license will get returned to you.
Though licenses are issued on the county level, Texas marriage laws dealing with the license apply throughout the entire state. For example, the State of Texas requires a 72-hour waiting period between receipt of the marriage license and the actual performance of the marriage. There are some exceptions; for example, members of the military and other employees of the Department of Defense don't have to wait.
It's probably best to apply a few weeks before your Texas wedding date if you can; you'll have 90 days before your license expires, which gives you plenty of time to plan ahead. When you both appear before the clerk, you will need to meet the following requirements to get your Texas marriage license:
Present valid government photo ID (e.g. driver's license, ID card or passport) proving that you are each at least 18 years old
Fill out the application
Sign the application in front of the clerk
Pay the application fee
Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for more informational blogs!